Western Australia’s premier netball competition, the Gold Industry Group West Australian Netball League (WANL) is an elite training and league structure that provides the best opportunities for players, coaches, umpires and officials to develop and maximise their abilities. Engaging eight Clubs, WANL serves as the primary pathway to the West Coast Fever program for West Australian netballers.

Check out the 2021 fixtures. Broadcast details coming soon.

The League launched in 1989 as the Gold Netball League, with six metropolitan and 12 country regions. During the initial years, all matches were played in a home and away series, and all players and officials were required to play for the region of their residence. Netball WA celebrated 25 years of the League in 2014.

In 2015, following extensive community consultation, the competition underwent a name change to the West Australian Netball League. The League consisted of eight regions (five metropolitan and three country), with 22 teams across three divisions – League, Reserves and 18U.

In 2018, Netball WA introduced a Men’s Division, with four teams competing, namely, the West Coast Warriors, Perth Lions, South East Demons and Wheatbelt Flames. The West Coast Warriors would go on to be crowned premiers.

2018 also marked the most significant change in the competition’s history. While celebrating its 30th anniversary, Netball WA sought out up to eight new WANL clubs to compete in a revamped format, with seven clubs awarded a licence to compete in the 20U and League divisions, while four of those seven will compete in the Men’s division.

In 2019, following a record $5 million partnership deal between the Gold Industry Group and Netball in WA, the competition was rebranded to the Gold Industry Group West Australian Netball League.

Upcoming WANL Events