Western Australia’s premiere netball competition, the Gold Industry Group West Australian Netball League (WANL) is an elite training and league structure that provides the best opportunities for players, coaches, umpires and officials to develop and maximise their abilities. Engaging seven Clubs, WANL serves as the primary pathway to the West Coast Fever program for West Australian netballers.


The League launched in 1989 as the Gold Netball League, with six metropolitan and 12 country regions. During the initial years, all matches were played in a home and away series, and all players and officials were required to play for the region of their residence. Netball WA celebrated 25 years of the League in 2014.

In 2015, following extensive community consultation, the competition underwent a name change to the West Australian Netball League. The League consisted of eight regions (five metropolitan and three country), with 22 teams across three divisions – League, Reserves and 18U.

In 2018, Netball WA introduced a Men’s Division, with four teams competing, namely, the West Coast Warriors, Perth Lions, South East Demons and Wheatbelt Flames. The West Coast Warriors would go on to be crowned premiers.

2018 also marked the most significant change in the competition’s history. While celebrating its 30th anniversary, Netball WA sought out up to eight new WANL clubs to compete in a revamped format, with seven clubs awarded a licence to compete in the 20U and League divisions, while four of those seven will compete in the Men’s division.

In 2019, following a record $5 million partnership deal between the Gold Industry Group and Netball in WA, the competition was rebranded to the Gold Industry Group West Australian Netball League.

An eighth club will be announced in the coming weeks to compete from 2020-2021.


Premiers List

1989 N/A N/A N/A Raiders
1990 N/A N/A Sparks Saints
1991 N/A N/A Raiders Bullets
1992 N/A N/A Sparks Bullets
1993 N/A N/A Bullets Bullets
1994 N/A N/A N/A Bullets
1995 N/A N/A South West Pumas
1996 N/A N/A Coastal Bullets
1997 N/A N/A Warriors Sparks
1998 N/A N/A Sparks Warriors
1999 N/A N/A Bullets WAIS
2000 N/A Bullets Sparks Sharks
2001 Bullets Sparks Sharks Flames
2002 Coastals Sparks Sparks Flames
2003 Coastals Warriors Bullets Rangers
2004 Coastals Sparks Sparks Sparks
2005 N/A Tigers Sparks Rangers
2006 N/A Sharks Sharks Rangers
2007 N/A Demons Rangers Demons
2008 N/A Jets Flames Demons
2009 N/A Falcons Jets Demons
2010 N/A Sharks Jets Demons
2011 N/A Tigers Falcons Sharks
2012 N/A Rangers Sharks Falcons
2013 N/A Sharks Sharks Demons
2014 N/A Sharks Sharks Demons
2015 N/A Rangers Sharks Lions
2016 N/A Jets Sharks Warriors
2017 N/A Lions Sharks Warriors
2018 Warriors Lions Sharks Sharks


2019 Warriors Roar Warriors

Jill McIntosh Medal Winners

The Jill McIntosh Medal is awarded annually to the Fairest & Best player in the Gold Industry Group West Australian Netball League. Votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the umpires each game, with the player with the most votes crowned the winner.

* In 1989 and 1990, the award was called Classique Player of the Series.

* From 1991-1993, the award was called the Berri Medal.

*1989 Jodie McGowan Saints
*1990 Peta Simeon Sparks
*1991 Jenny Jones Flames
*1992 Sharon Jarrott Bullets
*1993 Chelsey Mardon Pumas
1994 Peta Simeon Sparks
1995 Waveney Seinor Pumas
1996 Leith Fradd Bullets
1997 Angela Lloyd-Woods Jets
1998 Nardine Clarke Flames
1999 Paula Ferguson Warriors
2000 Michelle Atwell Bullets
2001 Amanda Santaromita WAIS-Coastals
2002 Fiona Mitchell Coastals
2003 Susan Fuhrmann Jets
2004 Cath Devitt Coastals
2005 Cath Devitt Coastals
2006 Kyra Neal Demons
2007 Kym Hunter Bullets
2008 Emma Beckett Sharks
2009 Mia Washbourne WAIS
2010 Kodie Blay Demons
2011 Sally Joynes Sharks
2012 Ama Agbeze Falcons
2013 Rochelle McKee Lions
2014 Ashleigh Neal Demons
2015 Andrea Gilmore Falcons
2016 Lindal Rohde Demons
Andrea Gilmore
Olivia Lewis

Further Gold Industry Group WANL Information

2020-2021 Gold Industry Group WANL Expression of Interest Information

For more information, please contact Netball WA’s Venue – Competitions and Events Department.