Netball WA announces WANL fixtures

Netball WA is pleased to announce the fixtures for the 2019 West Australian Netball League (WANL) season.

In a landmark year for the competition, seven new clubs will face off for premiership glory, with Netball WA currently in market for the eighth and final team.

Three divisions will be contested, namely, Open, 20U and Men’s.

Three-year licences have been awarded to the Curtin Hamersley Comets, East Freo Sharks, Rangers, Southside Demons, ECU Souwest Jets, Western Roar and West Coast Warriors, with all Club’s entering sides in the Open and 20U competitions, while the Comets, Demons, Roar and Warriors will compete in the Men’s division.

The season will kick off with a blockbuster match between the Southside Demons and Curtin Hamersley Comets at 6.30pm on Friday, May 31, before the Western Roar take on the West Coast Warriors and the ECU Souwest Jets face Rangers, while East Freo Sharks have the bye.

While most games will be held at the State Netball Centre, games will again travel to the regions, with matches at the Eaton Recreation Centre, Mundaring Arena, Curtin Stadium and HBF Arena.

Netball WA Chief Executive Officer Simon Taylor was confident of another competitive season.

“WANL has firmly cemented itself as the State’s pre-eminent netball competition in recent years, and I am confident that 2019 will be another strong season for our seven clubs,” Taylor said.

“As the governing body, we made a significant strategic decision to reform the competition, and we are incredibly proud of the clubs that have been awarded licences for the next three years.”

“I wish the competing clubs the best of luck for 2019, and look forward to watching in earnest over the course of the year.”

The regular season will run from May 31, with the Grand Final to be held on September 20 at the State Netball Centre.

Information on season passes and individual ticket sales will be communicated in the coming weeks.

Download the 2019 WANL fixtures here.