Netball WA announce new WANL Licences

Netball WA is pleased to announce the seven new Clubs that have been awarded West Australian Netball League (WANL) licences for 2019-2021.

The East Freo Sharks Netball Club, Hamersley-Curtin Netball Club, Perth Netball Club, Rangers Netball Club, South East Demons Netball Club, Souwest Jets Netball Club and West Coast Warriors Netball Club have all been successful in gaining a licence for the next three seasons.

All Clubs will enter a side in the League and 20U divisions, while Hamersley-Curtin, Perth, South East Demons and West Coast Warriors Netball Clubs will enter sides in the Men’s Division.

WANL is an integral part of the Netball WA Athlete Pathway, with current West Coast Fever players Jess Anstiss, Courtney Bruce, Ingird Colyer, Annika Lee-Jones and Kaylia Stanton all plying their trade in the League before earning contracts at the elite level

Netball WA Chief Executive Officer Simon Taylor said the applications were assessed by an independent selection panel, as well as the Netball WA Board, and noted the quality was outstanding.

“Each application underwent a rigorous level of scrutiny, so to award seven licences is something we’re very proud of, and that shows the quality of each of the applications,” Taylor said.

“I would like to thank everyone who played a role in submitting an application for a licence, and offer my sincere congratulations to the seven successful clubs.”

With the Clubs now confirmed, Taylor said the League was set to enter an exciting era in 2019.

“The West Australian Netball League is the preeminent netball competition in Western Australia, and I am thoroughly looking forward to the growth and evolution of the competition over the coming years,” he said.

“This growth will not only see the League flourish on the court, but also commercially, and that’s incredibly exciting for our existing partners, as well as those considering a partnership with Netball WA.”

In 2019, Netball WA will seek expressions of interest for an eighth licence to be awarded for two years, in line with the current three year licences.

The 2018 WANL season, also the 30th year of the League, is fast approaching the finals series, while the history and heritage of the competition will be celebrated at the 2018 Jill McIntosh Medal on Saturday, October 20 at the Grand Ballroom, Crown Perth.

Tickets to Netball WA’s night of nights are on sale here.

West Australian Netball League Clubs 2019-2021
East Freo Sharks Netball Club
Hamersley-Curtin Netball Club
Perth Netball Club
Rangers Netball Club
South East Demons Netball Club
Souwest Jets Netball Club
West Coast Warriors Netball Club