Netball WA adopts new Constitution

Delegates from the 11 Netball WA Regions have voted in favour of accepting the new Netball WA Constitution at this morning’s Annual General Meeting, one of the most significant changes to the sport’s governance in its history.

Following a comprehensive review of Netball WA’s Governance and Membership model in 2015, the governing body spent the past 12 months rolling out many of the 18 recommendations handed down by McLaughlin Sports Consultancy.

Additionally, Netball WA also conducted a series of Regional Roadshows across the State centred around the changes to the Constitution, competition framework and Regional structure.

On January 1, 2019 the 11 current Regions will dissolve and a new tiered system for Associations will form the basis of who holds voting rights, with Associations classed as Tier 1 to have the right to vote.

Tier 1 Associations will be required to be incorporated, and sign and comply with the Netball WA Association Annual Affiliation Agreement, as well as ensuring they have the prescribed number of registered playing and non-playing members and unique product participants.

The change will also see Netball WA staff in three metropolitan offices, with one each in the North West, Midwest-Gascoyne, Wheatbelt-Goldfields, Great Southern, South West and Peel.

Netball WA President Deane Pieters noted the importance of the reform.

“This is a landmark day for netball in Western Australia,” Pieters said.

“This reform and new structure has firmly cemented netball as one of the State’s leading sports, and one of a few that has the capacity to employ staff in regional areas full time, ensuring our game continues to flourish.” 

“Buoyed by a new Strategic Plan, we have a clear vision to be the sport of choice in Western Australia, and these changes will ensure that every participant from the grassroots to the elite can take control of their netball destiny.”

“I would particularly like to thank the Regions for their foresight in advancing our game, as well as the Governance and Membership Review Committee, and the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries for their ongoing support.”

The AGM also saw the appointment of two Board Directors, with Emma Chinnery and Jill Powell re-elected for three year terms.