Metro League to take flight

Netball WA is pleased to announce the launch of Metro League, with a pilot season to commence in 2019.

The competition has been designed to underpin the West Australian Netball League (WANL), which has undergone its biggest changes in its 30-year history.

Seven new Clubs will compete in a revamped WANL competition commencing next year, with Netball WA to add an eighth Club for the 2020-2021 seasons.

Metro League will see metropolitan and country Associations from across the State compete against each other, primarily on Friday nights at the State Netball Centre and Perth Netball Association.

More than 50 teams are set to take part in the League, which will see competition in 14U, 16U, 18U and Open Divisions.

Netball WA Chief Executive Officer Simon Taylor said it was an exciting time for the sport.

“Metro League will play an important role in netball cementing its position as the leading sport for women and girls in Western Australia,” Taylor said.

“Netball is the largest female participation sport in Western Australia, and this competition will be critical in the development of our athletes so that we have more West Australians representing West Coast Fever, and ultimately, the Samsung Diamonds.”

“The League will operate with a clear purpose to bridge the gap between club netball and the West Australian Netball League, and I am confident that the standard will be of the highest quality.”

“I would like to thank those Associations who have already shown significant interest in submitting teams into this competition, as well as those who have played a critical role in the formative stages of Metro League.”

The new competition also presents an exciting and unique opportunity for Western Australia’s corporate community, with a range of partnership opportunities available, including the rare chance to secure Naming Rights to the competition, which will see up to 14 Associations and 560 athletes competing.

The competition will commence on February 8, and two weeks of finals will conclude on April 5, 2019.