Information for Jill McIntosh Medal Awards Attendees

Another storied chapter of the Jill McIntosh Medal will be added on Saturday night, when we crown the 2018 Jill McIntosh Medallist at Crown Perth. More than 500 people will fill the Grand Ballroom, as we count the votes from every League game in the West Australian Netball League (WANL).

The night will also serve as a platform to reflect on and celebrate the League’s 30-year history, as well as the 11 Netball WA Regions.

For those attending the 2018 Jill McIntosh Medal, please refer to the event information below. 

Date: Saturday, 20 October, 2018
Time: Pre dinner drinks 6.30pm, formalities 7.00pm
Venue: Grand Ballroom, Crown Perth
Dress: Black Tie
Hashtag: #JMM2018
Getting there:
Crown Towers, Crown Perth, Great Eastern Highway, Perth, Western Australia 6100
Parking Information


The Voting System

At the end of each game, the umpires awarded six votes on a 3-2-1 basis. The player with the most votes at the end of the season will be crowned the 2018 Jill McIntosh Medallist.


Awards Presented

The night will also celebrate the coaches, players, administrators, umpires, officials and volunteers from across the State. The following awards will be presented:

2018 Jill McIntosh Medal

2018 Player’s Player of the Year

2018 WANL Coach of the Year

2018 WANL Club of the Year

2018 WANL Team of the Year

2018 WANL Reserves Most Valuable Player

2018 WANL 18U Most Valuable Player

2018 WANL Men’s Fairest and Best

Western Sting Most Valuable Player

19U State Team Most Valuable Player

17U State Team Most Valuable Player

2018 WANL Umpire of the Year

2018 WANL Bench Official of the Year

Umpire Achievement Award

Coach Achievement Award

Volunteer of the Year


Fast Facts

A total of 252 votes were awarded across the 2018 WANL season

Since the award was first presented in 1991, there have only been two players to win the Jill McIntosh Medal twice. The first was Cath Devitt who went back to back in 2004 and 2005, while Andrea Gilmore won the Medal in 2015 and 2017.

Mia Spencer, Kodie Blay and Lindal Rohde are the only three players who could win their second Jill McIntosh Medal this year.

The Demons and Warriors have won the past four Jill McIntosh Medals. Ash Neal (2014) from the Demons kicked things off, then Andrea Gilmore (2015), Lindal Rohde (2016) and Gilmore again in 2017. Will the Demons keep the pattern going?