Gilmore wins second Jill McIntosh Medal

West Coast Warriors defender Andrea Gilmore has capped off a sensational 2017 West Australian Netball League (WANL) season, by becoming just the third player to win the Jill McIntosh Medal twice.

Trailing by two votes heading into the final match of the season, Gilmore was awarded maximum votes against the Coastal Sharks in Round 17 to edge out Sharks defender Jess Penny by one vote.

Gilmore’s feat was made even more impressive after she missed four games throughout the season, before returning to help the Warriors to their second title in as many years.

The tough defender polled in eight of the nine games she played in and was adjudged best on court on five separate occasions, accounting for all bar five of her total votes.

Netball WA Chief Executive Officer Simon Taylor congratulated Gilmore on her second Jill McIntosh Medal.

“Andrea is one of the League’s most consistent performers, and that is certainly reflected in the number of games she received votes in,” Taylor said.

“It’s incredibly exciting to see a player of Andrea’s calibre become just the third player to win our game’s highest honour, and this is testament to her hard work and the passion she has for the game and her club.”

Warriors Head Coach Karly Guadagnin was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, after guiding her side to back to back titles, while the Warriors were named Club of the Year for the second straight year, after all three of their sides qualified for the Grand Finals.

Warriors Shooter Jasmine Cousins and Wheatbelt Flames defender Renee Cabassi were named joint Fairest & Best winners in the Reserves division.

Cousins finished the season with 301 goals from 14 games, while Cabassi was outstanding in the defensive circle across the year.

In the 18U Division, Souwest Jets midcourter Elycce Webb was named Fairest & Best, after she helped her side to nine wins in 2017.

A series of other awards were presented on the night, celebrating achievements from all facets of the game including State Teams, Coaches, Umpires, Officials and Volunteers.

Jill McIntosh Medal: Andrea Gilmore (West Coast Warriors)

Jill McIntosh Medal Leaderboard
20 Andrea Gilmore (West Coast Warriors)
19 Jessica Penny (Coastal Sharks)
15 Brooke Walker (West Coast Warriors)
14 Hinemoa Mehau (Rangers)
13 Lindal Rohde (South East Demons)

Coach of the Year: Karly Guadagnin (West Coast Warriors)
Club of the Year: West Coast Warriors

Team of the Year
Goal Shooter: Sophie Garbin (Coastal Sharks)
Goal Attack: Denise Shepley (West Coast Warriors)
Wing Attack: Kodie Blay (South East Demons)
Centre: Lindal Rohde (South East Demons)
Wing Defence: Jessica Eales (West Coast Warriors)
Goal Defence: Andrea Gilmore (West Coast Warriors)
Goal Keeper: Olivia Lewis (Coastal Sharks)

Reserves Fairest & Best: Jasmine Cousins (West Coast Warriors) and Renee Cabassi (Wheatbelt Flames)
18U Fairest & Best: Elycce Webb (Souwest Jets)

Western Sting MVP: Sophie Garbin
19U State Team MVP: Olivia Lewis
17U State Team MVP: Sunday Aryang

WANL Umpire of the Year: Justin Barnes
Umpire Achievement Award: Christine Johnston
WANL Bench Official of the Year: Shaunne Higgs
Coach Achievement Award: Belinda Reynolds (Coastal Netball Region)
Volunteer of the Year: Brenda Eales (West Coast Netball Region)